Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation

Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation History
1869: the Kotwal-e-Baldia, the City Police Commissioner, begins to look after the Municipal Administration
1869: Sir Salar Jung-I, the then Nizam, constitutes the Department of Municipal and Road Maintenance and a Municipal Commissioner appointed for Hyderabad Board and Chadarghat Board
Hyderabad is 55 sq km; population: 3.5 lakhs
1886: Chadargat becomes Chadarghat Municipality
1921: Hyderabad Municipality increases to 84 sq km
1933: The two Boards amalgamated into a Corporation and given statutory status under the Hyderabad Municipal Act
1934: First elections held for Municipal Corporation, and a Standing Committee appointed
1937: Banjara Hills and Jubilee Hills merged into Jubilee Hills Municipality
1942: Corporation status removed due to certain issues
1945: Secunderabad Municipality formed
1950: two separate corporations created under the Hyderabad Corporation Act, 1950: one for the city of Hyderabad and another for the city of Secunderabad
August 3rd 1960: the two Corporations again merged into a single Corporation by the Hyderabad Municipal Corporation Act, 1955
1956: Hyderabad becomes capital of Andhra Pradesh after the state is formed
1956 to March 2007 sees many changes and services provided to citizens. City divided into 4 Zones and 7 Circles
In 1960, the budget of the Corporation was 1.5 crores; raised to 1000 crores in the next 45 years
April 2007 onwards it becomes Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation, based on a notification released on 16th April 2007 by Government of Andhra Pradesh
City is divided into 5 Zones (North, South, Central, East and West) and 18 Circles
City grows from 175 sq km to 650 sq km
Population is over 60 lakhs
The following 12 municipalities from Rangareddy and Medak districts merged into Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation:
  • L.B. Nagar

  • Malkajgiri

  • Quthbullapur

  • Patancheru
  • Gaddiannaram

  • Kapra

  • Kukatpally
  • Ramachandrapuram
  • Uppal Kalan

  • Alwal
  • Serilingampalli
  • Rajendranagar

No comments:

Post a Comment